Home > Tech > A post about Everything

A post about Everything

Everything has changed everything!

Although I do use Windows Desktop Search 4.0 to index my e-mail, and the contents of files, I still found it didn’t cover quite everything. What I needed was a way to find a file by name…but sometimes I only knew part of the name, and that might be just the middle part!

I know WDS can do this. But I first have to allow it to index my entire hard drive, which is not something I wanted to do. I use WDS primarily to index my source code, SDK’s, and everything in Outlook.  Although WDS works well, it feels a bit like a resource hog at times.

Everything to the rescue. It is exactly what I’ve been looking for. It is very light on resources, it’s responsive, and it helps me find *any* file on my system by name…or I can use regular expressions to search by name as well.

In fact, according to their FAQ,

A fresh install of Windows XP SP2 (about 20,000 files) will use about 3-5mb of ram and less than 1mb of disk space. 1,000,000 files will use about 45mb of ram and 5mb of disk space.

Everything in use

Everything in use

This has become an essential utility that I install on every Windows system I work with.

Categories: Tech
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

