Home > Tech, Windows > Your desktop needs Fences

Your desktop needs Fences

Have you ever looked at your Windows desktop and thought it looked a bit like a Jackson Pollock painting? You are not alone. I’ve always done my best to keep my desktop free of icons, save ‘My Computer’, ‘My Documents’, and the ‘Recycle Bin’. However, clutter happens, and then my desktop is flooded with so much stuff that I can’t find any of it. Enter ‘Fences’, from Stardock. They have a free and pro version, but I’ve found that the ‘free’ version more than adequately meets my needs.

Fences organizes all the icons on your desktop into logical groups, which are more akin to the Windows 3.1 program manager…albeit with much more intelligence. To me, it feels like a natural extension of the Windows OS…and it is available for XP, Vista, and Windows 7.

Head over to Stardock’s Fences website and download the program and try it out. I must admit, I was a bit unsure at first that this would be of much use…but now I don’t know how I used a computer without it…seriously.

Fences Demo

Images below are taken from the Fences review on FreewareGenius.com. Clicking on the images will take you to their review.

fences-screenshot3

fences-screenshot3-area-and-sidenav

Categories: Tech, Windows
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

